Review: Mind Games and Perfect Lies by Kiersten White

12578294 12578370Mind Games and Perfect Lies by Kiersten White
Genre: Sci-fi, Thriller
Published by: Harper Teen
Pages: MG: 237, PL: 232
Format: e-book
Rating: ★★.5
Where to Find: Goodreads | Amazon

I read these books back to back because I had to know what happened next. I practically didn’t put them down! Thank goodness they’re each less than 250 pages because I could finish the series in one sitting. The first book Mind Games reminded me of a Saoirise Ronan film ‘Violet & Daisy’, which, although it’s a bit weird, I still really enjoyed. This was probably why I liked the first book so much because the sisters’ relationship in particular was reminiscent of the film.

Continue reading “Review: Mind Games and Perfect Lies by Kiersten White”

Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

11500217Angelfall by Susan Ee
Genre: Paranormal, Apocalyptic
Published by: Hodder and Stoughton
Pages: 289
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★★.5
Where to Find: Goodreads | Amazon

I was sold on the idea that this book would be ‘unlike any angels I’ve read before’, it certainly had something I’d never read before – and it wasn’t the angel apocalypse. Angelfall was a lot slower than I was expecting and even though I’d heard a lot of reviews mentioning the horror element I was still surprised by how revolting and vivid the description was. I should have taken my great apathy towards horror movies – the scariest film I’ve ever seen probably being The Black Cauldron, I mean, come on! The Horned King is too creepy for the under tens. – as an indication that I should stay clear. However, I gave it a go and here are my thoughts!

Continue reading “Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee”

Review: Tribute by Ellen Renner

18682784Tribute by Ellen Renner
Genre: Fantasy
Published by: Hot Key Books
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★★.5
Where to Find: Goodreads | Amazon

This story is original and perfect for fans of Maria V. Snyder. The world building was strong and I really enjoyed the protagonist, she was strong and independent and showed real progression throughout the story. However, I couldn’t really get into the world, and I thought the romance element was weaker than the revenge plot, and wasn’t necessary to the story as a whole. I wouldn’t describe any of the characters as particularly personable, so it was hard to feel sympathy for the cause.

Continue reading “Review: Tribute by Ellen Renner”

Review: Imposter by Susanne Winnacker

16135109Imposter by Susanne Winnacker
Genre: Paranormal, Sci-Fi, Mystery
Published by: Razorbill
Pages: 310
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★★.5
Where to Find: Goodreads | Amazon

I picked this book up at my local library mostly because the main character Tessa had a vaguely similar power to Rogue from the X-Men (which I love!), considering I read this book on a whim, I was pleasantly surprised! However, I didn’t feel like the story was necessarily anything I hadn’t read before. Definitely a book for fan of Starters by Lissa Price.

Continue reading “Review: Imposter by Susanne Winnacker”

Review: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

23492282Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Published by: Mira INK
Pages: 496
Format: ARC E-Book
Rating: ★★.5
Where to Find: Goodreads | Amazon

After really enjoying Pushing the LimitsI was really excited to read Katie McGarry’s next companion series, as her characters are really well developed. However, Nowhere But Here didn’t really reach my expectations. Don’t get me wrong, it was a really interesting read as I hadn’t read anything about Motorcycle clubs before, but I’d say this book would be more appealing to an NA audience.

Continue reading “Review: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry”

Review: Jessie Hearts NYC by Keris Stainton

jessie nycJessie Hearts NYC by Keris Stainton
Genre: 
Contemporary, Romance
Published by: Orchard Books
Pages: 254
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★★.5
Where to Find: Goodreads | Amazon

I read this book as part of the #readukya Read-a-thon that was hosted by @LucyTheReader. I was totally in the mood for a cute contemporary, and ‘Jessie Hearts NYC’ definitely delivered (plus it’s super short so could be read in one sitting!) I was a little bit surprised by ‘Jessie’ and how the plot wad advertised as a romance, but almost completely lacking in romance for the two main characters!

Continue reading “Review: Jessie Hearts NYC by Keris Stainton”

Review: ’89 Walls by Katie Pierson

25136810’89 Walls by Katie Pierson
Published by: Wise Ink
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 240
Format: e-Book
Rating:★★.5
Where to Find: Goodreads |  NetGalley

This cover is so beautiful I just had to read the book! The blurb made it seem like a light-hearted contemporary with dual perspective between Quinn and Seth, but it’s so much more than that! I probably wouldn’t recommend this book to younger readers as two of the main themes are teenage pregnancy, and sexual relationships. However, it was really interesting to read a book with so many different dimensions, and I really like how there were recommendations for other books that had similar themes in the back.

Continue reading “Review: ’89 Walls by Katie Pierson”

Review: Amy and Matthew by Cammie McGovern

amy and matthewAmy and Matthew by Cammie McGovern
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
Published by: Macmillan
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★★.5
Where to Find: Goodreads | Amazon

This book was like a breath of fresh air. Dealing with disability and mental illness, ‘Amy and Matthew’ ticks a lot of diversity boxes, and gains some originality points, as I’ve never read something that covers these issues. So, ‘Amy and Matthew’, I didn’t have a problem with. However, the fact it’s subtitled as ‘A Love Story’ is where things started to get a little tricky.

Characters
The first twenty percent of the book, we are introduced to the lives of our protagonists, written in 3rd person so we can experience their lives separately, as well as together. Amy has cerebral palsy and Matthew has (to begin with) undiagnosed OCD. They have to deal with the stresses of over-active and absent parents, along with trying to survive senior year. Amy wants to make some friends, which includes Matthew. They hang out and slowly, they fall in love. Except, neither character can overtly say they’re in love and if they do, each character seems to be in a different place in the relationship.
Continue reading “Review: Amy and Matthew by Cammie McGovern”

Review: The Uglies Trilogy by Scott Westerfeld

uglies seriesThe Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld
Genre: Dystopian, Adventure
Published by: Simon Pulse
Format: E-Book
Rating: ★★.5
Where to Find: GoodReads | Amazon

A sticker on the Uglies series reads,  ‘Before the Hunger Games there was….’ This is one of my pet peeves, which probably deserves a post by itself. The idea that there were dystopian books before ‘The Hunger Games’ rose to popularity seems to astound people.

The concept of this series is all people are born ugly. When they turn sixteen, they become pretty, through surgery and genetic implants. It was interesting to read a book that discussed beauty and how its presented in a way that didn’t seem glaringly obvious. When you pick up this book, you’re not bombarded with a social agenda to redefine beauty. Tally, the protagonist, just wants to be pretty. Shay, her best friend, doesn’t.

Continue reading “Review: The Uglies Trilogy by Scott Westerfeld”

Review: The Rain by Virginia Bergin

the rainThe Rain by Virginia Bergin
Genre: Apocalyptic
Published by: Macmillan
Pages: 384
Format: E-Book
Ratings: ★★.5
Series: The Storm (#2)
Where to Find: Goodreads | Amazon

The Rain certainly had an interesting concept. Set in the southwest of England, where rain is abundant and constant, rainwater is contaminated with an alien organism that kills if touched. Excellent! But a great concept cannot fuel interest for over 300 pages….so I had a few problems.

Continue reading “Review: The Rain by Virginia Bergin”